Skip to Menu Skip to Search Nous contacter France Sites web & Langues Skip to Content

À Propos

Rejoignez notre webinaire (en anglais) en direct pour en savoir plus sur la quantification numérique des OGM par PCR.

Début

17 nov. 2021, 16:00

Fin

17 nov. 2021, 16:30

Lieu de l'événement

Online

Genetically modified organisms (GMOs) are of big interest to the food industry, as they have major influence over consumers’ opinions - and the decisions they make. In recent years, specific legislation in each region tried to address the authorization and traceability process of GMOs introduction, from farm to fork. Within those rules, a threshold states the GMO amount that would be considered a contamination, so anything lower would be allowed into a product without it being declared a GMO. Therefore, quantitative testing is of utmost relevance and importance. To meet these requirements, we have developed a third generation PCR – digital PCR (dPCR) – that allows for precise and robust quantification, even when the target is present in low levels. 
 
Digital PCR is a third generation PCR with clear advantages when analyzing food samples. dPCR benefits the specificity, sensitivity and is less susceptible to the normal inhibitors present in food samples. In this webinar we will show the advantages of the use of dPCR for the screening of GMOs.
 

Agenda:

  • The problematic nature of GMOs
  • The current methods for GMO detection
  • What is digital PCR?
  • What is the benefit of digital PCR applied to GMO detection?
  • Q&A

Speakers:

  • Franck Pandiani - Global Business Manager Food Molecular Biology, SGS
    Based in France, Franck Pandiani is the Global Manager for SGS Food Molecular Biology. He has a PhD in Biochemistry & Molecular Microbiology from Université d'Avignon et des Pays de Vaucluse and a Master 2 in Biochemistry-Nutrition & Food Safety from the Université Paul Cézanne (Aix-Marseille III).
  • Cristina Barbosa - Competence Centre for Molecular Biology (CCMB) Manager, SGS
    Research & Development Manager working internationally on molecular biology expansion. Skilled in NGS, digital PCR and other molecular biology techniques applied to health and nutrition. Cristina has a PhD focused on Human Molecular Biology from Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa. 

Session Schedule:

  • 4:00 PM Paris (France)
  • 3:00 PM  London (United Kingdom)
  • 10:00 AM New York (United States)
  • 7:00 AM San Francisco (Unites States)

REGISTER NOW

Can't make a live session? Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.